Swami Vipulananda institute of Aesthetic Studies

Swami Vipulananda Institute of Aesthetic Studies, Batticaloa, Sri Lanka Get Directions


The Batticaloa University College was established on 1 of August 1981 to fill a long felt need for the development of a Higher Educational Institution in the Eastern Province, Sri Lanka. This College began with two faculties: the Faculty of Science and the Faculty of Agriculture. Both the faculties were affiliated to the University of Peradeniya. In 1986 this University College was elevated to the status of a University under the name of Eastern University, Sri Lanka.

The Eastern University, Sri Lanka was established on 1 of October 1986 by a University order dated 26 of September 1986 issued under section 2 of the Universities Act No. 16 of 1978. In 1988 two new faculties, the Faculty of Commerce and Management and the Faculty of Cultural Studies were established. The Faculty of Cultural Studies was then expanded and renamed as the Faculty of Arts and Culture in 1991.

The Eastern University, Sri Lanka has recently established a new Faculty, the Faculty of Health-Care Sciences, and students are being admitted in 2006. A Campus of the Eastern University, Sri Lanka functions in Trincomalee with two new Faculties, the Faculty of Applied Sciences and the Faculty of Communication and Business Studies.

Write a Review

Daily Views

Compare Programs
Add programs to compare.